Sunday, January 31, 2010

Lorca y Chocolate

Yesterday I went to lorca with about 15 people to see the Fortaleza del Sol which is a fortress on top of a mountain which has been kept up and turned into a museum. The city of Lorca is beautiful and a lot of the buildings in the city center are ornate and colorful, which I really enjoyed.

After eating lunch on a gorgeous plaza in the city we went up the mountain and saw the fortress. I loved the gardens at the fortress and took some pretty good pictures.


We met a family that lived near the fortress and they had absolutely adorable puppies that were only 3 weeks old and tiny! After that we went to a restaurant and got dinner at a great, cheap, place that was delicious before taking the bus back home.





After getting home we went to the little festival on the plaza outside my apartment and finally got churros y chocolate which, suprisingly, I'm not a huge fan of. The churros are like a less-good version of fried dough and the chocolate was just not chocolate-y enough for me. I guess I'm just a coffee and pastry person and not a churros y chocolate person. Oh well, I'll just stick with my cappuccinos in the future.


Today I woke up and did my laundry for the first time. It was really exciting hanging out my laundry to dry! I was proud of myself for not dropping any of my clothes down the 4 floors. I also was really happy that my clothes smell really good from the fresh air. My roomate Lauren and I made eggs and bacon for lunch and then I read for a few hours and drank a cup of coffee at the pasteleria (bakery) downstairs from my apartment. I love having the pasteleria right there because I don't have to go far to get some coffee and a delicious snack :) Another great thing right next to my apartment is the aumentacion which is like a convenience store. They call the aumentaciones "chinos" because they are all run by Chinese immigrants. I love the chino because a) I can speak chinese to the people there and b) everything is really cheap there. Tonight we're going to Sabor y Arte which is a portuguese restaurant that is supposed to be really delicious. Tomorrow its back to class, ugh!

No comments:

Post a Comment